Perform a one-off manual addition or removal of subscribers from a sequence

Using an automation rule or visual automation, you can automate the addition of subscribers to email sequences. (Automating the removal of subscribers from sequences is also possible using rules but not visual automations.)

However, what if you want to do a one-off manual addition or removal of subscribers from a certain sequence?

In this case, it might not make sense to:

  • Set up a temporary new rule or visual automation (with a temporary tag as the rule’s trigger or visual automation’s entry point for example),

  • Manually add the temporary tag to your subscribers to trigger the rule or visual automation, then

  • Delete the temporary tag, and the temporary rule or visual automation, when your subscribers have been added to or removed from your sequence.

Instead, the more convenient method is to use a bulk action. Keep reading as we share the steps for using a bulk action to manually add or remove subscribers from a sequence.

(As a bonus, we’ll also share an alternative method for removing individual subscribers without using a bulk action!)

How to manually add subscribers to a sequence

1. Select the subscribers to be manually added to your sequence

Log into ConvertKit and access the Subscribers page under the Grow tab in the top navigation.

Select the subscribers that you want to manually add to your sequence.

For example, you can click the checkbox next to a specific subscriber to select just that subscriber:

(Use the search bar on the right to search for the specific subscriber(s) first, if needed.)

You can also select all the subscribers who are in a certain segment, have a certain tag, or have purchased a certain product.

To do so, click the relevant segment, tag, or product in the right sidebar of the Subscribers page.

From there, click the checkbox on the left of the “Subscriber” heading to select all the subscribers on the page.

If the list of subscribers spans multiple pages, you’ll need to click the “Select all subscribers” option instead.

2. Use a bulk action to add your selected subscribers to your sequence

After selecting your subscribers, click Bulk Actions, followed by Add to Sequence.

A window will pop up for you to select the sequence(s) that your subscribers should be added to.

So go ahead to select the relevant sequence(s), and hit Save.

We’ll proceed to add your subscribers to your chosen sequence(s). As we do so, take note that the following may occur:

  • If your sequence is the trigger or entry point for any automation rules or visual automations respectively, the actions in your rules and visual automations will be applied to those subscribers. To prevent this from happening, temporarily disable any relevant rules or visual automations that will be triggered when you add subscribers to a sequence.

  • If you add subscribers to a sequence that can be restarted, any subscribers who had already progressed through the sequence midway will receive your sequence email content from the very top again.

How to manually remove subscribers from a sequence

Bulk removal of subscribers from a sequence

To manually remove subscribers from a sequence in bulk, complete the steps outlined above for selecting multiple subscribers at once.

After that, click Bulk Actions, followed by Remove from Sequence.

A window will pop up for you to select the sequence(s) that your subscribers should be removed from.

Choose the relevant sequence(s), then click Save to remove your selected subscribers from the sequence(s).

The removal of subscribers from sequences can also trigger automation rules and visual automations. Temporarily disable any rules or visual automations that you don’t want to run when your subscribers are removed from a sequence.

Individual removal of subscribers from a sequence

Instead of using a bulk action, here’s another way of removing individual subscribers from a sequence.

From the Subscribers page, click the relevant subscriber to open their subscriber profile page.

Click the trash can icon next to the sequence from which you want to remove the subscriber, followed by OK to confirm the removal. 🗑️

And as mentioned, the removal of subscribers from sequences can also trigger automation rules and visual automations. Be sure to temporarily disable any rules or visual automations that shouldn’t run when you remove your individual subscriber from your sequence.

P.S.: If you’re looking to remove subscribers from a sales sequence after they’ve bought your product, we suggest automating this process using a visual automation instead of doing it manually.

And you can learn how to set this up here 👇

How to remove purchasers from a sales sequence once they buy

Did this answer your question?