Sequence autosave is here! ✨

Now any changes you make to your sequence will be automatically saved, so you never lose your hard work again. Even with auto-save, you're still in full control of what content goes live & when.

☝️PLEASE NOTE: All emails in the sequence must use the new email editor (not the legacy editor) in order for the autosave feature to appear.

Here's how it all works!

Start by editing your sequence as normal

As soon as you start making edits to a sequence, you'll notice a few new controls pop up on-screen. These are courtesy of the autosave feature! Here's how they'll look:

These options allow you to publish your changes once they're ready, discard them if you change your mind, as well as view the last published version of that email (that is, the version of the email that is currently live, without your changes).

It will also be indicated on the right sidebar which emails have unpublished (autosaved) changes:

Why aren't autosaved changes published automatically?

The requirement of having you explicitly publish your autosaved changes, as opposed to them going live automatically, prevents content from being sent out to your subscribers before it's finalized.

NOTE: This refers to the content of your sequence emails. Any action taken from the settings bar (such as the the publish toggle, delay, and exclusion filters) will go live right away.

Our autosave flow allows for all of your in-progress changes to be maintained for safekeeping, while still leaving you in full control over the content contained in the live version of your sequence at any given point.

This allows you to proofread, send yourself preview emails, and experiment with different content at your own pace, all from directly within ConvertKit. It also means there won't be any interruptions from your subscribers' perspectives — all they'll ever see is the finalized versions of your emails. 🙌

You're in control.

The live versions of your sequence emails will not be affected until you decide the changes you've made are ready to publish. You can even navigate away from the sequences page entirely, and your autosaved changes will still be waiting for you when you return.

How to publish autosaved changes

NOTE: Autosaved changes need to be published individually per email.

Once you're ready for your autosaved content changes to be applied to the live version of your sequence email, go ahead and click the Publish changes button at the bottom of the email editor:

After clicking that button, the live version of that sequence email will now contain all of its autosaved changes.

⚠️ PLEASE NOTE: Once published, the previous version of the email will no longer be retrievable.

Viewing the last published version of the email

There may be times when you want to compare your in-progress edits against the currently-live version of the email. To do so, just click the 'View last published version' link at the top of the editor:

After clicking that link, a modal will pop up to display the currently-live version of the email instead (please note it will be view-only; you won't be able to edit it directly).

To continue making changes, just close that modal. That will return you to the autosaved & editable version of the email, to pick up right where you left off.

Discarding autosaved changes

Changed your mind about your edits? Want to start over? No problem! Just click the 'Discard changes' button at the bottom of the editor:

The email editor will revert back to the last published version of the email. And since your autosaved changes were never published, any subscribers in that sequence will be none the wiser!

⚠️ WARNING: Discarding your changes is irreversible. This button will also only discard changes for that particular sequence email, not the sequence as a whole.

Key takeaways

  • Autosave controls will automatically appear on-screen when editing your sequence email content
  • Emails with pending autosaved changes will also be indicated in the right sidebar
  • Any action taken from the settings bar (such as the the publish toggle, delay, and filters) will go live right away
  • Any edits you make to your sequence email content will be autosaved for safekeeping, but those edits will not be published to the sequence until you click the 'Publish changes' button
  • Until you publish your autosaved changes, the last published version of the email will continue to send to any subscribers currently going through that sequence

That's all there is to it.

Now, go ahead and update your sequences with peace of mind. Your changes will be ready to publish when you are. 😌

What is a Sequence + When to Use One

Did this answer your question?