Not quite sure what a Sequence is, or when to use one? Check out this article first!
Starting from the Sequences page in your account, click the red ‘New Sequence’ button near the top right, and give your Sequence a name.
NOTE: The Sequence’s name is for your reference only, and can be changed at anytime.
The Sequence Editor
Once your Sequence is created, you’ll be presented with a page that has an email editor on the right, and your Sequence email(s) listed on the left sidebar:
From the sidebar, you can add new emails using the + Add Email button. You can also drag & drop to rearrange their order:
To edit an email, select it from the sidebar and then make your changes in the editor to the right.
There are also several options available above the email editor. You can toggle the status (between Draft & Published), adjust the sending delay, add a filter, delete the email, or preview it (either in browser or you can send yourself a test email):
Let’s go over each of these options!
By default, your emails will be set to Draft mode when newly created. Draft emails won’t send to your Subscribers, so once you’re ready, make sure you switch your emails from Draft to Published under the Status menu!
When to Send
Under the When to Send menu above the email editor, you can adjust the delay before which that particular email in the Sequence should be sent.
The delay is relative to the email prior to it in the Sequence. In the case of the first email, the delay is relative to when the Subscriber gets added to the Sequence.
Only the very first email can be set to send immediately. To do so, just set the delay to 0 days. All other emails have to have a minimum of a 1 hour delay between them.
You can delete an email from your Sequence by clicking the trash can icon above the email editor.
You can use the filters to exclude certain groups of Subscribers from specific emails in your Sequence. Click here to learn more!
Under the Preview heading, you can either view your Sequence email in browser or by entering your email address to receive a preview straight to your inbox. 👁
Finally, when ready to save your changes, click the red Save All button from the top right of the page!