At ConvertKit, we charge for only your active subscribers.

We're subscriber-centric, rather than list-centric. This means we bill based on your number of confirmed subscribers.

We don't charge extra for features, like Tags and Segments, or even emails sent. You will be charged for only your active subscribers!

You can find pricing details for all of our plans right here.

Let’s dive into some details, including:


Adding your Billing Information

Certain states require us to charge our customers sales tax. To handle this, all we need to know is your billing address (this applies to customers in Arizona, Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Washington).

To add your billing address to your account, head over to your billing information (Settings > Plan). At the bottom of the page, click on 'Update address'.

A pop-up window will open prompting you to fill out your billing address:


How to Upgrade or Downgrade Plans in ConvertKit

NOTE: When you change pricing tiers or plans, we may pro-rate your next bill accordingly—see the next section on ‘Understanding Your ConvertKit Bill” for more info.

Upgrade from the Free plan to the Creator plan

Click on the Upgrade button in the header of the ConvertKit dashboard, then fill out your credit card details.

Upgrade pricing tiers in any paid plan

No need to do anything—the upgrade will happen automatically! 🎉

Upgrade from the Creator plan to the Creator Pro plan

Click on your name in the top right of the ConvertKit dashboard, followed by the green Upgrade to Creator Pro button.

Switch from a monthly plan to an annual plan

Go to ‘Account Settings’ and click on the Billing tab. Then, click the link that says ‘Get 2 months free by upgrading to an annual plan!’

Switch from an annual plan to a monthly plan

Contact us using the in-app messenger and request to switch from an annual plan to a monthly plan. The switch will happen at the end of the annual billing cycle.

Downgrade from the Creator Pro plan

In the Billing tab of your ‘Account Settings’, click the Downgrade button.

Downgrade to a lower pricing tier on any paid plan, or from the Creator plan to the Free plan

Contact us using the in-app messenger and we’ll help you out!


Understanding Your ConvertKit Bill

The two keys to understanding your bill are that:

  1. We always pro-rate.

  2. We charge for the billing period ahead.

That means when you pay your $29 monthly bill on January 1st, you're paying for up to 1,000 subscribers from January 1 to January 31.

If you change plans during that period, your next bill will reflect the following:

  • A refund of the pro-rated amount for the unused time on your existing plan, and

  • A charge for a pro-rated amount for the remaining time on your new plan.

Here's an example:

  • On March 1, you paid $29 for the month of March.

  • On March 20, you are upgraded to the next tier, the $49/mo plan.

  • We refund the 10 days of the $29 plan you didn't use—($9.66). This is your Unused Time.

  • We charge you for the 10 days on the upgraded plan—$16.33. This is your Remaining Time.

  • We take the sum of the credit and the charge—$6.67—and add it to your next bill.

  • So on April 1, you are charged $49 + $6.67 = $55.67.

We follow the same process if you downgrade your plan.

Let's say you've cleaned out some cold subscribers, and you are now under 1,000 Subscribers. First, contact us and request a downgrade.

Then here’s what happens next:

  • On May 1, you paid $49 for the month of May.

  • On May 20, you are downgraded to the lower tier, the $29/mo plan.

  • We refund the 10 days of the $49 plan you didn't use—($16.33). This is your Unused Time.

  • We charge you for the 10 days on the downgraded plan—$9.66. This is your Remaining Time.

  • We take the sum of the credit and the charge—($6.67)—and credit it to your next bill.

  • So on June 1, you are charged $29 - $6.67 = $22.33.

We also apply the same pro-rating policy when billing for changes to annual plans.

How Is Our Annual Plan Different From Our Monthly Plan?

We're here for the long term. If you are too, then we've got a deal for you. Our annual plans offer 12 months for the price of 10.

Huzzah!

NOTE: Because of the bargain price, we do not offer refunds beyond our standard 30-day refund policy.


Our Refund Policy

We understand things don't always work out. If you do have to leave, then we want what's best for you.

We have a 30-day refund policy, so if you cancel, you can request any funds paid in the last 30 days to be refunded in full.

Our 30-day refund policy applies to all plans, including annual plans. However, we do not refund or pro-rate payments made more than 30 days prior to the request.


Why Is There a $1 Charge on Your Credit Card Statement?

Whenever you add or change the credit card on file in your account, our payment partner Stripe will run a $1 verification charge.

This verification helps to ensure that the card is a legitimate form of payment. It’s also checking for available funds.

The charge is only temporary and will be automatically removed from your credit card statement after 7 days!


What Happens If You Cancel Your Account?

When you cancel your account, it will remain active until the last day of your billing period.


How to Customize the Billing Information in Your ConvertKit Receipts

Follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Account Settings

  2. Click on the Billing tab

  3. Click on the View Billing History button

  4. Click on ‘⚙️ Receipt Settings’

  5. A modal will appear, where you can add information like your billing address or VAT number.

Account Upgrade | Downgrade FAQs

Did this answer your question?